Hi hi, Ink! Your reply was pretty big and I wanted to make sure you saw a proper reply!

First off, thanks for checking out the site and enjoying the fanfics! I appreciate all of my readers. =)

I know what you mean about Ciel's age. I believe she starts in MMZ1 at age 14, and in Z2, she's 15 til the end (2 months between Z2 and Z3, and not long at all before Z3 and Z4) so despite her maturity in all other regards, in terms of romance, I don't really view Ciel all that mature at all. Also, although you didn't outright say it, YAY someone ELSE admits to something between Elpizo and Ciel, despite it being one-sided! Than again, Elpizo himself wasn't very "old" either. If he lived and Ciel was a little older I'd totally advocated Elpizo/Ciel.

Zero, to me, is not the type to stay in one place once his duty is fulfilled. He's too restless, too on edge. This is shown in Z3, when apparently it's been 2 months of quiet, almost peacefulness, but he was constantly on edge, even snapping at Ciel and the others to shut up because they were "on a mission." To me, Zero takes things extremely seriously, far too much for someone as young as Ciel. I don't know, although Zero was typically encouraging for Ciel, in the situation they were in, it was beneficial for him to be kind. When they weren't in immediate danger (such as the intro to Z3), Zero was quick to be 'mean' to her.

I wish they put more emphasis on how Zero was during both of X's deaths. At the end of Z1, Zero had already remembered enough about X to know they "were always the best of partners" (direct quote.), and he looked incredibly pissed that Elpizo was threatening X's physical body. But afterwards, he was just fixated on Dark Elf... and X hardly reacted to his own death. Then again, as some of my one-shots implied, X had seen it coming and as you've said, Zero probably didn't get the "full" impact of X's death. The second death, I don't think Zero knew until much later, and by the time Z4 rolls around, Zero must put on the facade of being "okay" or else the Resistance would crumble, and he knew it.

Thanks again for the comment, Ink =) I love hearing from people!

@Lady Midnight - thanks for the feedback on Axl/Delia, appreciated <3

@Kallan - Well I can't spoil TOO much about Axl/Delia, but you're on my brain wave length! XD So some het isn't gonna kill anyone? I don't wanna be all... heavy Zero/X and kill people with the yaoi overdose! lmao But, oh, I'm so happy to hear SoM: R was a good introduction fic for you. <3 Thank you so much, and don't worry, it'll get finished eventually!


Thanks to everyone that's replied, here and dA. See you next time!
Ink
10/27/2010 12:21:44 am

Your stories are really nice I especially really like your one-shots.

I agree with you in that there are different types of maturity and just because you are mature in one area doesn't mean you are mature in another. Ciel hasn't done anything to show that she is mature romantically. Yeah I do believe that Elpizo could have been right for her, but her immaturity in the area of romance made her completely overlook him. I don't even consider what she felt for Zero to be true love, that was hero worship or puppy love at best. People tend to forget that Zero is older than X, and a hell of a lot older than Andrew (who might seem like a kid to him), Zero and X only look. young.

Yeah also Zero may have felt very antsy. Because though the Resistance were all nice guys they weren't "his old friends" they didn't really know him. They are not his buddies, and Zero probably doesn't consider them close enough to hang out with outside of a mission, except for Alouette but then again that may be because she's a little kid (and for some Zero I think that Zero likes kids). I kinda also think that Ciel doesn't have what it takes to calm him down in those situations, and that his encouragement of Ciel which only happens before missions was just for morale. Ciel is considered the leader of the Resistance and if she walks around with a long face morale amongst its members will go down which will lessen their performance. That is why Zero encourages her, for morale. All he means is to "believe that he can complete the mission" there's not much else to that statement.

I think the reason why the scene played out the way it did was because both Zero and X (who are war veterans) know that they can't be so distracted by your loss that you can't complete your mission. Also like I said before X's very presence (as a cyber elf) may have also helped lessen the blow for Zero. I also agree with you that by the time X died the second time, Zero doesn't get any time to grieve. And as the events of Zero 4 rolled around Zero had to put his own personal feelings aside (I've read quite a few non-slash fanfiction that have pointed this out, and seen one comic in pixiv that parodied the Gurren Lagann ending in that Zero marries X, which is the final thing they do together before X dies the second time, and Zero 4 begins and Zero heads off with no tears already knowing that it was going to happen) for the sake of morale. I also hold the belief that Zero may have been happy to finally die, because in death he could become a cyber elf and reunite with the reploids he cared about. That's also why I find it cruel for people to make up a reason to bring him back for Ciel or worse have Ciel find his remains and rebuild him, but then again they never really get into Zero's physique anyway.

Here's an interesting thought, I've actually read a few slash fanfic that basically said that Zero never really loved Iris and that is attraction to her was just a projection of his own attraction to X, due to Iris having a similar personality (though Iris is more naive than X). At the beginning I didn't think too much on it but then I sat down ant I really thought about it, I came up with this crack theory. Both Iris and Colonel were meant to be one unit that was meant to basically create another X. However, they couldn't and so split the reploid in to two units Colonel the combat unit, which represented X's resolve to fight when he needed to. And Iris the peace keeping pacifist unit representing X's own pacifistic nature. Zero became good friends with Colonel, who he likened to a comrade in arms similar to how he views X on the battlefield. However, Zero was attracted to Iris who represented X's pacifistic and somewhat naive nature (though Iris is far more naive but that was because she needed Colonel in order to be a full unit, but if they were a full unit they'd be another X). This crack theory is further by the fact that X and Iris have very similar facial features, to the point where you could say that Iris was a female version of X (why no one has ever tried to break Zero's artificial brain by making a genderbent X that pretended to be a dude is anyone's guess), and I've seen a few japanese fanarts that poked fun at the fact that X and Iris look alike. The reason why Zero may not have realized he was in love with X was because of X political standing, and what he represented. However, by X5 or X6 Zero realizes that X is his most important person though X may have already felt that way (I've only ready one sadly incomplete fanfic that actually did have a genderbent X who didn't want Zero to find out she was a girl because she loved him and wanted to protect him, but felt that she couldn't do that he if knew she was a girl). But that's just my crack theory.

Reply



Leave a Reply.