So I got this in my FF.net PM box:

"Why, why do all of you people make Zero gay?!? He likes Ciel. And before that it was Isis. So, Zero is STRAIGHT!"

I was nice in replying, but I still found it hilarious. One, it's IRIS (if you're going to advocate a het pairing, KNOW WHO'S IN IT), two, WHERE in canon does it say Zero likes Ciel more than friendship? Hm? Three, its fanfiction, I can do whatever the fuck I want.

Lulz.

Been having my brain shot repeatedly by talking to the ex-boy. I'll get on board with writing again soon, promise.
Ink
10/26/2010 05:12:27 am

I've never played the Megaman Zero games (and I don't ever plan to), however I read the script from the games and watched the videos, and from that I actually think that Zero and Ciel are incompatible. Part of the reason for this is Ciel's age (which I don't see brought up in fanfic hmm...) I know age ain't nothing but a number, but she is at the age where its normal for a girl to get a crush (or to hero worship) on a males in their lives and yet grow out of that crush when they get older. Added in with the fact that Ciel doesn't really know Zero (when she meets him he doesn't have his memories, and by the time he really starts getting them back he dies) but she did hear stories about him and he saves her life so it is not a stretch to say that she feels a sort of hero worship towards him. Ciel may just be not ready to really be in a serious relationship and I think that the situation with Elipzio showed that. In a way Ciel reminds me of Kirara from Samurai 7 (the anime) she had a crush (or puppy love/hero worhsip) on an older man (read:war veteran) who was fighting to save her village at her request, meanwhile there was also another younger samurai who actually loved her, and her rejecting him lead to him leaving her alone. At the end of the story the girl has lost both males (can't really be considered both because she only had one), while the older man goes back to his life and the younger younger one follows him as his student.

There is also the problem that even though they were on the same side during a war, that doesn't necessarily mean that they'll stay together, in times of peace. Particularly because they never got a chance to really know each other, and this can be problem considering that with Zero he woke up with only X left out of previous companions. And it doesn't matter what people think of X and Zero relationship it is true that they are incredibly close so even if people view them as just friends X's death would symbolize the loss of everything Zero knew, in fact in a way one could say that X's presence in Megaman Zero as well as Zero's loss of memory is what Zero from despair. I'd be like saying "hey Zero everyone you ever knew and cared about is dead, well at least you still have your best friend who everyone believes that you're in a relationship with... ohh wait now he's dead too" judging by how Zero reacted to Iris's and Colonel's death, how would he have reacted with the full knowledge of his loss? And Zero's known these reploids for over a 100 years so that's an even bigger problem. Being in a relationship with Ciel wouldn't be best for him, not only because I believe she can't support him through his grief (she can't even grieve with him, cause she wouldn't be able to understand the magnitude of it) there is also the problem that though Ciel is young now she's still a human and humans have limited lives (unlike reploids) so its not out of it to say that to Zero her life wouldn't be very long. I know that there's precedent for Human/Reploid relationships but those cases are not ones where one partner comes in enough emotional baggage to fill 4 lifetimes, seriously Zero's older than old man Andrew.

Well I'm just ranting so I'll just end it by saying that just because a girl likes a guy , or guy likes a girl, or a guy likes a guy, or a girl likes a girl doesn't mean that the object of affection likes, or is obligated to like them back.

I'm so sorry for taking up space I just had to get that off my chest. I love your stories by the way.

Reply



Leave a Reply.