UGH.

I dunno what it is, but writing my Rockman stuff is getting harder and harder to do. I mean, I still got lots of passion for the series, don't get me wrong. If anyone's been noticing I do admit I've been working on a DISSIDA: FINAL FANTASY fic on the side, but it's been following a game very closely til recently, and now it's like...


Okay, so let's start this whinefest in the beginning. It's late, I feel emo, so I'ma... emo. Harhar.

So when I'm following a game a lot closer, nearly pretty much novelizing it, I seem to be doing pretty good and can pump out chapters quick. I mean, for my DISSIDIA fic, the first 9 chapters I got within days of each other because I followed FF8's timeline. Now that I'm severely deviating from it, I find myself severely slowing on it, just like I am with Song of Memory: REDUX.

I guess I'm getting frustrated with how hard it seems for me to write out an 'original' plotline (despite it being fanworks) even if I got all these notes and such to do it. Like right now I was working on SoM:R's 34th chapter, and I got maybe a page and a half done, following my notes, before I realized that it's kinda shitty. And I wonder why the hell that is. So I figured I'll take a break and go work on my DISSIDA fic. I get half a page until I just close Word out of frustration. I feel like my quality of writing hits the shithole for no goddamn reason because I'm not following a game's plot scene-for-scene. I mean, shouldn't I, as a writer, be able to get these original deviations from the plot going?

I got my notes for both stories laid out for several chapters yet for some reason I just can't seem to translate into writing very well. SoM:R's chapter 34 is boring; Magnet (the DISSIDIA fic) is too reliant on dialogue I feel to get shit done. It's like... "ARRGGHHH WHHYYY".

I don't even know what I'm really bitching about. I guess I'm just scared I'm losing my writing edge and I haven't even 'done' anything to do so. I mean, I always figured so long as I write and strive to do better, I'll be fine. But why am I having so many issues? With fucking fanfiction to boot?

I really wanna finish SoM:R. I really like my idea I have for it. I like my planned ending, I like my characterization of the characters. The drive is there so why the fuck can I not do it? I can't blame RL because I'm not like, overburdened with work right now (altho come June I start clinicals again, /sarcasticyay) and it's just... argh.

I really need to invest in one of those wireless USB things and move my computer to my room. I know I lose a lot of writing chances because I can't write if people are in the room and have plain view of my screen. I dunno why, I just can't, and everyone suddenly has a new fucking interest in TV.

God I don't even know what  I'm really bitching about. I JUST NEED TO VENT OKAY?! ; ;

FML. For serious.

Someone give me a damn inspiration fairy or thirty. Please?

LilyVess
5/27/2011 12:20:12 pm

Okay, I'm a huge fan of your Mega Man fanfictions, and I've probably read just about every one you've posted, so when I saw this blog I was a little shocked. First, I want you to know that you are an amazing author. Passion is evident in each of your pieces and you completely immerse your readers in the story. Second, your plot ideas, character interactions, and general writing flow aren't only amazing, but you fit them so well into the plots of the actual games! That doesn't make you unoriginal. Very few people are able to write that way, but I believe that it enhances the story. Finally, I wanted to let you know that the concepts you explain and the personalities and plotlines you elaborate on are genius. I understand that you're probably frusterated with all that's going on in your life right now, but I promise you that you don't have to doubt your writing skills. They continue to blow me away with each story I explore.

PS: I'm a huge fan of SoM:R, and the quality of writing is not decreasing in that story.:)

Reply



Leave a Reply.